Review: Florence by Ciye Cho

Reading Level: Young Adult   Publication Date: 7/1/12
Seventeen-year-old Florence Waverley is out of her depth. Literally. Kidnapped and taken below the waves to the mer world of Niemela, she is the ultimate gift for merman Prince Kiren: a human familiar tied to his side. But nothing is what it seems amid the beauty and danger of a dark ocean.

Every Niemelan has a role to play, from the mermaids who weave towers out of kelp to the warriors who fight sea monsters. But in trying to survive, Florence will end up in the middle of a war between the mer and the Darkness. A conflict that will push her between two brothers: Kiren, the charmer inexplicably drawn to both her and the monsters; and Rolan, the loner who has been pushing her away since the day they met. But in order to take a stand–and find out where she belongs–Florence will have to risk it all: her life, her heart… and her very soul.

My Thoughts:

I haven’t read very many mermaid books, but Florence is definitely one of my favorites! I’m so happy I got the chance to read it!

I loved the magical underwater world Ciye Cho has created in this book! Everything seemed so beautiful, it was one of those places I wish really existed so I could see it for myself. I thought the author did a wonderful job describing everything, because in my mind I could picture this place perfectly.

One of my favorite things about this book was the wonderful cast of characters! There was Florence, who I found extremely likable because she was so down to earth. Then there were the two princes, Kiren and Rolan. I thought Kiren was charming, but I couldn’t seem to figure out if he was a good guy or if he was a bad guy.  I didn’t like Rolan very much in the beginning, but once you get to know his character it’s hard not to love him! I also really liked Princess Yolee’s character too, I thought she was a sweetheart!

This book had everything I look for in a good book, there was action, fantasy, adventure, and even a little bit of romance! Overall, I thought it was a great read and I would highly recommend it!

My Rating:

4.5/5 Stars

One thought on “Review: Florence by Ciye Cho

  1. Wow, this seems like a great read- from what I can tell it seems as if mermaid YA is on the rise- I can't wait to see what comes next. Great review- the world building sounds great and I must find a place to read it soon.Teenage Fiction

Leave a Reply

